The other day I rented Life, which is a movie with Ryan Reynolds and Jake Gyllenhaal. It was rated R so I thought I should see it with my cousin; I’d say I made the right decision with that…

Going into to it I didn’t know if it was going to primarily thriller or primarily horror. I’d say it was a mixture of both, and it was terrifying. 

Throughout the movie I just knew something bad was going to happen with the little alien thing that they had in their little culture specimen thing, I just didn’t know when. 

Various terrifying things did happen and I was slightly traumatized afterwards. No spoiler alert here because it comes with the territory with a movie like this, but some of the characters do die… in the most gruesome and creative ways because the alien thing is way too smart. 

And then that ENDING!!! The ending was different alright. It definitely had me hating the writers because I did find myself rooting for the characters to make it and save the world! It was heart-wrenching to watch to say the least. 

Once again Jake Gyllenhaal does an amazing job transforming into another character. And once again Ryan Reynolds is his old funny self; I don’t know if that’s a good or a bad thing for this type of movie. It kind of felt like they threw Ryan Reynolds in just to draw an audience. Anyway, his performance was decent and added a little flare to the movie. 

And great job to the other supporting cast members. They did a great job of selling the story. They didn’t over act at all, which is why I really liked the movie because some horror/thriller movies are just over dramatic. 

All-in-all, I would highly recommend this movie because it will have you flying off your seat rooting for the characters. But the alien was very traumatizing and I would suggest watching it with a buddy. 

Leave a Reply

